Windows 2000 pro or XP pro? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Windows 2000 pro or XP pro?

ChuteTheMall
07-31-2004, 09:16
What are the differences? I've used only Windows 98, and I've been offered Windows 2000 Pro or Windows XP Pro. What's Pro?

Can I keep my Windows 98 as is & available in case I prefer it, and add either or both 2000 & xp as options to play with from time to time?
How simple is this, I'm no pro?

HerrGlock
07-31-2004, 09:46
Depends on what you want to do and how much you want the mothership to know what you're doing.

XP - installation requires talking to MS. Change out hardware more than a handful of times and you'll be talking to their support people renegotiating your license.

2Kpro - no talking to the mothership and you can change out hardware every day for life and it doesn't care.

There are technical differences but to the standard home user, they're about ignorable. They're both more stable than 98, better separation of userspace and kernel space and more secure generally.

DanH

BLiTzNicK
07-31-2004, 13:29
Originally posted by HerrGlock

XP - installation requires talking to MS. Change out hardware more than a handful of times and you'll be talking to their support people renegotiating your license.

DanH

I have heard this time and time again, but have never seen it personally. I have at least 200 XP Pro machines at work, and have replaced nics, video cards, sound cards, etc with parts from our "graveyard" machines, and never have had to call Microsoft.

I just replaced the CDROM, Video Card, Nic, and an STI Caller, on one machine (water damage), and did not have any problems, other than finding the driver for the STI caller (older version).

Is it just an XP Home problem, because I've never had to replace hardware in one of those systems?

HerrGlock
07-31-2004, 15:10
Originally posted by BLiTzNicK

Is it just an XP Home problem, because I've never had to replace hardware in one of those systems?