Switched to Apple [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Switched to Apple

sgtlmj
07-31-2004, 23:23
I'm a long time PC builder/fixer/user and I just recently bought an Apple 12" PowerBook.

The main reason I did this was for security. Most of us are drawn to this site because of Glocks. Most of us have a particular philosophy on security which is why we choose to own firearms. Looking at the computer side of things, I saw the huge holes and exploits in Windoze.

I wanted a computer that would just work and keep my documents safe. I found all of this in the Mac. It has been rock solid, and I have been running it for months now.

It isn't susceptable to viruses, spyware, etc. It has excellent encryption for your files. I can do almost everything the PC does except for the high-end games. I'll always keep a PC around for BF1942 and FarCry.

I still fix my friend's and families computers on a regular basis, and continue to curse MS along the way.

If you are at your witt's end with your PC, give Apple a look. They've come a long way in the last couple of years.

Jaltered
07-31-2004, 23:48
You've chosen wisely. :cool:

NetNinja
08-01-2004, 08:58
It's only a matter of time that virus's and spyware will be written for the Apple.

I like Apples a lot but I went through the proprietary hardware road once. (Amiga Computer)
The third party stuff was just as expensive.

I think
Apples way of generating revenue is to keep tweaking thier OS to force thier users to upgrade.

Cheetah
Puma
Jaguar
Panther
Simba?
Hakuna Matada?

I must admit thier OS rocks! It beats the pants off of Windows and is light years ahead of Linux.

I highly doubt they are breaking even on thier highly stylized machines.

The most successful product to come from Apple is the Ipod.
The second most sucessful product was the IPod that interfaced with the PC. Now! there're talking!
But how many 5 cent songs does it take to make a profit?

I love thier large LCD monitors! Those things are the bomb!