Newbie, pls help me buy 1st gun [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Newbie, pls help me buy 1st gun

LexaDoig
08-09-2004, 21:18
Hey guys It's great to see good Philippine-related threads here so I decided to join in ;f I'm new to guns and I'm planning to get one soon... I don't wanna spend too much though...

My choices have boiled to these:

-Bersa Thunder 380
-FEG PPK clone
-Norinco Model 59 in 380 (makarov clone)
-Daewoo DP51
-FEG or Arcus hipower clone

The Bersa in blue is 17k at Hahn, they have stock, I just called them now.

Can you help me with the prices of those other pieces? I'm in the province, and the shops I've called don't seem to carry those...

Thanks!

PS Tuloy ba gunshow sa Megamall sa November???

batangueno
08-09-2004, 21:49
;F to the BOG.

My suggestion based on your list would be the Bersa Thunder 380. Horge, can explain further. :)

jundeleon
08-09-2004, 22:23
You did not mention the gun's intended use: carry or home defense or sporting purposes/competition.

For carry, the bersa 380 would be the ideal choice among the guns you listed. Its light concealable and easy to shoot. The caliber is a respectable self defense round.

For home defense and occassional range sessions, I think there are better choices for your budget. An armscor/RIA/Norinco 1911 in 45acp is an example.

mikey177
08-09-2004, 22:29
About two months ago, the Daewoo DP51 was available at Urban Industrial Corp. in EDSA Shangri-la. I'm also in the province so I can't say if they have any right now, but you can try calling them at (02) 638-3255 or 632-1760.

Oh, and welcome to the BoG.

I second jundeleon's suggestion to identify the intended use of the gun before you narrow down your choices.

mc_oliver
08-09-2004, 22:34
For a carry gun, I'd suggest you spend a little more and get a 2nd hand glock 26 or a Taurus PT-111. The 9mm offers a lot more options for defensive purposes with better performance compared to the 380 in the same package. ;) But that's just me.