How far will 70 watts transmit? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : How far will 70 watts transmit?

srhoades
08-23-2004, 07:04
I'm new to the whole radio thing. I bought a police scanner and it should be here anyday. I live about 45miles from a site that puts out 70 watts. Will I be able to pick it up?

08-23-2004, 07:50
Sorta depends on a lot of things! The frequency used by your local police, and the frequencies that your scanner can pick up.

Where (physically) is the transmitter? On top of a hill, or down in a valley?

Is you home shielded from the transmitter?

Are you utilizing an exterior antenna, or the antenna that comes with the scanner.

Right off the bat, my guess would be that, if you are tuned to the correct frequency, it shouldn't be a problem. A problem might exist if the local police are using an 800mhz trunking repeater system. If this is the case, you'll be able to receive their transmissions, but the conversations will seem real weird!!

GSD17
08-23-2004, 14:21
why get a scanner? just get a ham ticket and most 2m radios will scan as well!

srhoades
08-23-2004, 18:20
All though it may sounds a little wierd, I'm trying to pick up Disneyland. They have quite an extensive conventional and trunked system going on over there.

http://www.freqofnature.com/frequencies/ca/orange/disneyland.html

I am getting a Radio Shack Pro 95, which is mainly to listen to the local Sheriff and city PD's. I stumbled on the Disneyland link and thought what the heck.

GSD17
08-23-2004, 22:20
dont feel weird, people scan EVERYTHING, if it puts out a signal, someone is listening to it

08-24-2004, 07:50
I don't have the information handy, but I seem to recall that Disneyland also has a Ham repeater on site. Not sure how active it is.