Keeping Motivated [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Keeping Motivated

Grey Wolf
09-09-2004, 18:04
Hey all,

I am coming in a little late, but finally found this forum on GT. Thanks Eric, I think this, for one, will be a good addition here on GT.

I always like to hear other people reasons that keep them motivated in their workouts. Some say cause they want to look good nekkid, others because they want to live healthy for along time.

For me I do it to stay in shape, reduce stress, and be strong enough to survive any thing that I may encounter while at work (I'm a cop) to ensure I make it home every night.

So... what keeps you working out?

Stay safe and train hard.

Grey Wolf

California Jack
09-09-2004, 20:53
The big picture is too sty healthy and strong so I can have an active retirement.

But more recently I got a motivational boost from my 10 year old son. On a Cub Scout campout there was a obstacle course. I was a bit startled when only one of the eight or nine 10 year olds could climb the rope. That one, of course, had to use his feet. My six year old was tagging along on the trip. To try to motivate the kids to trying harder I teased them a little by telling them my 6 yearold could climb the rope. He climbed it, of course using his feet. I told the 10 year olds they needed more exercise saying they shouldn't allow themselves to be out done physically by a six year old. Of course the scouts started saying I needed to put my money where my mouth is. I told them climbing a rope is easy and that I could do it without using my feet. I was unsure of this because at the time I hadn't done any rope climbing or pullups in 15 years. Well, they finally egged me on, and to my surprise I climbed the rope easily without using my feet. Now the cool part was when I neared the top of the rope I could hear my sons yelling "THAT'S OUR DAD, THAT"S OUR DAD" repeatedly and in unison.