I want to build a PC - where do I start? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : I want to build a PC - where do I start?

Specks
10-01-2004, 15:30
I would like to build my own computer from scratch. Since I've never done this before, I'm looking for a little help.

I like to play games, but I'm not fanatic about it and I don't go out and buy games the day they come out, so I don't really need the fastest processor or video card. I plan on dual booting winXP and linux. I'm a software developer so I do plan on doing some of that on this computer as well.

I want to know what brands to look for, which ones to stay away from, where to shop (I'm guessing mostly online). What will I definately need, what I can do without? Any tips you've learned and are willing to give to a beginner.

Things I know I'll need: monitor, case, motherboard, power supply, memory, hard drive{s}, dvd burner, video card, sound card, usb connections, network card. What am I missing?

Thanks in advance. I'm a bit embarrased, being in computer software and not knowing much about hardware.

Weaps
10-01-2004, 17:32
You start with a good motherboard. I was building my wife her new computer (about the fifth one I've built completely from components) and made the mistake of buying a no-name motherboard on sale from Tigerdirect. None of the memory sticks I put in the thing would allow it to POST. Gave the signal as if there was no RAM installed. After swapping out RAM sticks to no avail, I finally drove down to a local place and bought an <b>ASUS</b> motherboard, and all was well. Abit is good, I've heard Tyan as well is fine, but ASUS seems to have the edge.