Building your own [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Building your own

Bullman
10-03-2004, 08:44
Now I am not a mechanical genius, but every once in a while I get these wild ideas that won't leave my head.

I know a guy who more or less built himself a fatboy by buying a frame, a FLH type fork, S and S motor and so on...

why couldn't a person buy that type of frame and instead of the S and S motor, stuff something like an early eighties GSXR1100 motor in there, the air cooled type? Maybe make it shaft drive (low maintenance) put some bags on it maybe so you could take it all over the country.

Anyone ever done or seen anything like this?

BrianM_G21
10-03-2004, 11:47
There's no limit to what can be done.... if you're willing to part with the money. That said, there are some 'issues' with what you suggested that would take a LOT of money to overcome:

The frames that are comonly available are designed for HD clone engines (V-twins that are supported from below, room for an oil tank, etc). To stuff a wide and short GSXR11 motor in there would leave a LOT of empty space, stick out so far to the sides that highway pegs wouldn't be a functional option and you'd need to fabricate new motor-mounts. Now, if you're talking about a custom 1-off frame (Spondon and Harris are well know, there are others) ~ then it'd be designed to fit the engine and all these issues would be for naught.

The next major issue is that changing a chain drive to shaft is no small undertaking. You'd need to either figgure out a chain to shaft conversion, or figgure out a way to recast the engine cases for shaft drive. Considering the GS1100 is the same engine (though slightly detuned) with shaft drive, that would be a more logical starting point.