Expanding WiFi network. [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Expanding WiFi network.


Wulfenite
10-13-2004, 12:12
I got a friend who wants me to put in a WiFi network at her home.

Problem is its a large house with ends far apart and it has a lot of masonry construction.

Is there a way that you can install a gateway/router/firewall transmitter at one end of the house then some sort of signal booster in the middle part of the house that will pick up the signal from the gateway and cast the signal to the far end of the house?

Ripper_1394
10-13-2004, 12:19
Originally posted by Wulfenite
I got a friend who wants me to put in a WiFi network at her home.

Problem is its a large house with ends far apart and it has a lot of masonry construction.

Is there a way that you can install a gateway/router/firewall transmitter at one end of the house then some sort of signal booster in the middle part of the house that will pick up the signal from the gateway and cast the signal to the far end of the house?

You could always use the Powerline adapters.

http://www.linksys.com/products/product.asp?grid=34&scid=33&prid=541

NetNinja
10-13-2004, 12:26
Rent a Ferret and tie a string on his tail and put some cat chow on the other end where you want him to go, in this instance the other side of the house, when it gets to the other end untie the string.

Now from the starting point tie the string to a Cat5 cable and pull it through!

A whole lot cheaper than buying bosters.

Yes if I remember correctly they do sell bosters.

In fact here is a page you can look at from the linksys website.

http://www.linksys.com/products/group.asp?grid=33&scid=38

fastvfr
10-13-2004, 12:59
Aside from Net Ninja's excellent suggestion, you might be able to get by with the plain-Jane Belkin Wireless Access Point.

You probably won't need two of them, but as they do not need any sort of RJ45 connection, just a WL NIC in each PC.

You'll need this little item anyway to set up the network with both PC's and add a Palm or WL laptop later, and expect them all to connect up, see each other, and communicate.

An Ad Hoc WLAN can be configured with two PC's using no AP, but there isn't any way to set up a third PC on it without issues with crosstalk and conflicts.

Just experiment with plugging the Access Point into different locales around the midpoint of the home until you find the place that works best.

Sometimes just plugging the WL radio card into the uppermost PCI slot in the Connection-Sharing PC can extend the range enough; sometimes placing the PC on a desktop will wind up doing the trick.

Good luck,

FastVFR

Wulfenite
10-13-2004, 13:15
I dont want to pull cable and the object is to have wireless access for a lap top all over the house.

I followed the link NetNinja provided and surfed around to find this.

http://www.linksys.com/products/product.asp?grid=33&scid=38&prid=629

http://www.linksys.com/products/image180/wre54g.jpg

I think that will do the trick.

I may have to adjust things a couple times before I get the spot right though.

Is there a business market niche for being a self employed WiFi network installer?

chevrofreak
10-13-2004, 13:42
Unless its a massive house, I doubt there will be much problem. I actually get better reception on my laptop with the WAP on the 3rd floor, while I'm in the basement, than i did with the WAP in the basement with me.

Roger C
10-20-2004, 14:00
Give your wireless signal a boost (http://www.practicallynetworked.com/qa/qa20040921.shtml)