Outlook Express vs. Outlook 2003 [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Outlook Express vs. Outlook 2003


Wulfenite
10-16-2004, 19:49
Why doesnt 2003 have the "If... then do not download from the server" option in its mail rules. Outlook express has it and its the only way I've been able to keep my wife's mail separate from mine.

It kind of pisses me off that the cheep free program has better features than the paid for program.

NetNinja
10-17-2004, 00:00
Google me this. Google me that.

Huh? What yo Talkin Bout Willis!

When you are connecting to a Pop3 connection and setting up the user info, click on the "More Setings" tab and then click on the "Advanced Tab."

See it now?

Where's my can of coke!

Wulfenite
10-17-2004, 09:20
Nah, that's not it. I knew about that check box. That's something you use on one computer that you might check mail on but that you dont necessarily want to be the central repository of mail.

I need Outlook to look at all the mail that sitting in my POP3 earthlink account, and only download the mail that has "wulfenite@earthlink.net" alias in the "To:" box and leave the mail that's addressed the "Wulfenite's Sweetie@earthlink.net" alias in the box so she can get it later on her computer.

This was easy in OE but I'm not sure 2003 can do it.

Cinic
10-17-2004, 22:57
I'm a bit confused about your question. Are you both getting email from the same account?

Wulfenite
10-18-2004, 08:53
We have one earthlink "account". That account allows multiple email "aliases", which are emal addresses. The way earthlink has things set up email sent to any of the aliases sits in the same account on the POP server. When you log into the account under any of the aliases the POP server tries to down load everything in the account's mail box to the computer.

OE allows you to filter the mail while its still on the POP so that only certian aliases get downloaded. Mail that doesnt pass the filter gets left on the POP till the account is interogated by a computer who's mail program doesnt filter for that alias.

Its really frustrating. It seems really stupid that Earthlink cant configure the pop server so that each alias can log in discretely.

Cinic
10-18-2004, 09:35
Ahhh...now I understand.

Sorry, can't help you.

;f

I've setup plenty of POP3 accounts, but I've always had separate mailboxes to deal with.

fastvfr
10-18-2004, 13:32
No M$ app that I know of can deal with that consistently.

IE's OE6 sometimes does this properly, but then with time seems to 'forget' its settings and will need to be reconfigured (reminded?) what rules it was supposed to use. Then it downloads everything to one account and you get the pleasure of wading through the 'main' inbox and Move all of the other person's stuff to the other Inbox folder...oh what fun.

Why can't you simply set up a second account? Do those lovely Earthlunk folks charge extra for more than one e-mail account these days?!

Good luck,

FastVFR

ronin_asano
10-18-2004, 14:35
Originally posted by Wulfenite
We have one earthlink "account". That account allows multiple email "aliases", which are emal addresses. The way earthlink has things set up email sent to any of the aliases sits in the same account on the POP server. When you log into the account under any of the aliases the POP server tries to down load everything in the account's mail box to the computer.

OE allows you to filter the mail while its still on the POP so that only certian aliases get downloaded. Mail that doesnt pass the filter gets left on the POP till the account is interogated by a computer who's mail program doesnt filter for that alias.

Its really frustrating. It seems really stupid that Earthlink cant configure the pop server so that each alias can log in discretely.

sounds like earthlink is screwed up for you. i also have earthlink for my isp. however, i do not have that issue, even though i have 4 email addresses under my account profile. when i check the email for my address, it only downloads email sent to that address, rather than my mail plus any email my parents have in their individual email profiles.

have you complained to earthlink about this? have they told you that you must simply 'deal with it'? your situation has me curious, since i don't have that problem, and neither does anyone else in my area that has earthlink.

Wulfenite
10-18-2004, 17:41
So let me get this straight. You open up Outlook, you start a new account, you plug in one of the e-link aliases and the password, type in the pop3.onemain.com and smtpauth.earthlink.net stuff,save it, hit send/recieve. And you get _just_ the mail that's addressed to the alias..... not everything that's sitting on the server that's associated with your earthlink account?

Cinic
10-19-2004, 01:12
That's the way our addresses work. Each user has their own login and password and they only get mail addressed to them.

We don't use the Cox ones at home, but they said we had 5 (I think) distinct addresses which have little to do with each other.

I say you give earthlink a call and see what they have to say. Unless you've already done that...but the whole situation sounds a bit weird to me.

ronin_asano
10-19-2004, 08:16
Originally posted by Wulfenite
So let me get this straight. You open up Outlook, you start a new account, you plug in one of the e-link aliases and the password, type in the pop3.onemain.com and smtpauth.earthlink.net stuff,save it, hit send/recieve. And you get _just_ the mail that's addressed to the alias..... not everything that's sitting on the server that's associated with your earthlink account?

that's right. it works like that for all 4 addresses i have under my account, but i don't use outlook. i use thunderbird, not that your choice of client should matter.

i also notice that your incoming server is different from mine. i use pop.earthlink.net. i have never heard of the one you mentioned. the outgoing server is the same.

i think i'd place that customer service call to earthlink.

Wulfenite
10-19-2004, 08:47
We started out w/ JPS, JPS got bought by onemain, and they changed the outgoing server. Elink bought onemain and left us on the onemain.

I'll try to call them today.

One question about your passwords. We have the same password for all the aliases. When I go onto elink for mail or even onto their website to change account settings I can use any of the alias names as the login name but I have to use "the" password. Do your aliases all have different passwords?

ronin_asano
10-19-2004, 09:54
Originally posted by Wulfenite
We started out w/ JPS, JPS got bought by onemain, and they changed the outgoing server. Elink bought onemain and left us on the onemain.

I'll try to call them today.

One question about your passwords. We have the same password for all the aliases. When I go onto elink for mail or even onto their website to change account settings I can use any of the alias names as the login name but I have to use "the" password. Do your aliases all have different passwords?

yes. all 4 addresses have different passwords. since my email is listed as the 'owner' of course my login allows me to create new addresses, delete existing ones, and otherwise edit existing addresses, but each address may be used login individually through the earthlink webmail site or by using an email client.

based on what you said above, i think you have a configuration problem at the isp with all the confused servers. can you get any of your email by going earthlink's page, clicking on the webmail tab and logging in there?

Wulfenite
10-19-2004, 12:00
Yes, If I go ont elinks site, hit the web mail tab, I can put in any of the three alises I have active and "the" password. I get into the web mail inbox which will have mail addressed to any of the three alises that has not yet downloaded from the server.

I think you're right. This may be a problem in the set up and the transfers from jps to onemain to earthlink.

ronin_asano
10-19-2004, 12:15
at this point, i'd have to agree. either they have a serious configuration problem, or as you said, you only have 'aliases' and not truly separate addresses.

i assume you cannot use pop.earthlink.net as your incoming server?