Good idea to use a UPS with a laptop? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Good idea to use a UPS with a laptop?


chisler
10-18-2004, 19:36
Anybody feel there is a good reason to use a UPS with a laptop, since there is already an internal battery in the laptop?
Thanks.

mzenzer
10-18-2004, 19:40
Surge Protection, though you can get that with a regular surge protector as well. Besides that no.

Jtemple
10-18-2004, 21:06
No.

chevrofreak
10-18-2004, 21:42
No. Not unless you NEED to use your computer when the power is out, and need to swap batteries.

lomfs24
10-19-2004, 01:22
No unless you needed longer uptimes than what the regular battery would provide during an outage. And if that were the case I wouldn't think you would be using a laptop for that application.

chisler
10-19-2004, 08:56
Thanks for the replies, guys!

ronin_asano
10-19-2004, 10:00
Originally posted by mzenzer
Surge Protection, though you can get that with a regular surge protector as well. Besides that no.

or buy an ibm. they have surge protection in their power suppl bricks.

bambihunter
11-10-2004, 04:31
If you've got one then use it - the better ones also do line conditioning as well.
Heck, I have 3 computers, each on thier own UPS, my entertainment center is on an older but big UPS (suitcase-sized). It's great, here in Oklahoma we have a lot of bad weather and when it hits here we can watch our 27" tv with our surround-sound stereo, VCR, and cable box all hooked up to it for around an hour after the electricity goes out. That's normally long enough to at least let the weather pass so we'll know if there's any tornado possibilities...