Norton AntiVirus, LiveUpdate + Repairs Failed [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Norton AntiVirus, LiveUpdate + Repairs Failed


plato
10-20-2004, 14:44
1934.6 KB? WTF? I update weekly when the alert pops up.

What am I missing here?

http://img61.exs.cx/img61/4003/19346KB.png


Live Update is always ON. So why the 1934.6 KB?

http://img70.exs.cx/img70/3453/LiveUpdate.png

plato
10-20-2004, 14:48
Look at 10/20/04 and look at the Repairs FAILED:

http://img64.exs.cx/img64/8164/failedrepair.png

plato
10-20-2004, 14:51
17 minutes? Why so long, can I shorten the scanning time?

http://img61.exs.cx/img61/2606/17minutes.png

fastvfr
10-20-2004, 17:32
I hate Norton.

First, I have to ask: is your PC particularly fast? Pentium 4 class, over 2.4GHz CPU?

Over 512MB of DDR RAM installed? How big is your hard drive?

Norton is a serious resource hog, and can make even semi-respectable PC's crawl even when it isn't scanning!

The huge Live Update file is a puzzler, isn't it?

I suggest you RUN to Trend (http://housecall.trendmicro.com/housecall/start_corp.asp) and do a scan of all of your HDD partitions RIGHT NOW.

Normally when Norton goes south it rolls out the red carpet to any passing virii, worms or trojans that happen by. You could have some nasties in there crapping up your 'Live' updater....

BTW, I make more money, and spend far more time, ripping Symantec products out of PC's than I do from building new rigs, which I do an average of 2-3 times a week!! Then I install AVAST!, AVG, or some similar FREE AV SCANNER that works better.

Funniest thing is, the free AV companies provide better support for their products to their customers, AT NO CHARGE, than the support Norton gleefully charges you $39.95 a call for.

Talk about grim....Well, hopefully there aren't too many nasty surprises in the files on your HDD; and if there are, I am guessing you will upgrade to a free AV for Christmas this year!!

Good luck,

FastVFR

fastvfr
10-20-2004, 17:41
Oops...the screenshot you posted of the log file didn't pop up until I started my reply.

Looks like Trend Housecall will be finding at least two or three bits of crud in there, won't it? So much for expensive AV products working better....they should, but they most certainly do not. Shameful!

Sorry to say, that's just the tip of the iceberg, though...if you blow out your browser's temp files, the Trojan will be gone, and Norton will no longer see it.

But its payload will not be removed. Nor will Bloodhound Exploit6, as Norton apparently doesn't know how to deal with it.

Well, at least you can Google the results of the Trend online scan to see how to manually remove all of them, so all might still be well.

Except for Norton's chances of staying on your PC, that is...

plato
10-20-2004, 18:11
You're saying that I need to manually remove Bloodhound Exploit6 and the Trojan Horse?

Even if it's just in my temp files?

My PC is a 2.6 Ghz P4 with 1 Gig of RAM.

120 Gig harddrive. Window XP home.

Video is FX5900.

IE 6.0

fiberpig
10-20-2004, 21:54
I got tired of nortins subscriptions so I now use AVG free version, works very well. I also use a program A2 Squared. It's another free program (swedish I think) that takes care of malware and virusis. It works excellent. Norton is over rated. I also use Window Washer 5.0, I down loaded it for free from one of the peer sites, it keeps the crap cleared out. With these 3 my laptop has zero issues. You can download AVG free version, run it and it will clean the viruses.

glocka
10-21-2004, 18:59
:( Norton Sux...;9 ;9 ;9 ;0 ^3 ^3

fastvfr
10-21-2004, 19:13
Not necessarily, Plato, but you don't want to just install AVG onto the HDD while there are viruses in residence!

Run the Trend scan I linked you to earlier, and install the certificate, download the engine and pattern file, then scan.

It may or may not remove the bugs; they sometimes hack into Read-Only folders and files, and sometimes change the folder's attributes after they move it to keep the scanner out.

So run Housecall and do a manual remove if needed, and ONLY THEN ditch your NAV and install AVG or AVAST!

Good luck,

FastVFR