pr.php? HyperText Transfer Protocol? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : pr.php? HyperText Transfer Protocol?


plato
10-20-2004, 15:08
I am seeing a little RED x instead of seeing an image of some words that I normally see. I think that it's a HyperText Transfer Protocol pr.php type IMAGE.

Java settings?

IE 6.0 settings?

Privacy settings?

Security settings?

It's a 28 x 30 pixels image.

http://img41.exs.cx/img41/4473/noimage.png

The RED x above is just a "screen shot" and not the real image in question.

Help? Haha.

sandboy6184
10-20-2004, 15:27
Originally posted by plato
I am seeing a little RED x instead of seeing an image of some words that I normally see. I think that it's a HyperText Transfer Protocol pr.php type IMAGE.

Java settings?

IE 6.0 settings?

Privacy settings?

Security settings?

It's a 28 x 30 pixels image.

http://img41.exs.cx/img41/4473/noimage.png

The RED x above is just a "screen shot" and not the real image in question.

Help? Haha.

red X means the image isnt on the server anymore that its linked to in the source page.

David_G17
10-20-2004, 15:37
Originally posted by plato
I am seeing a little RED x instead of seeing an image of some words that I normally see. I think that it's a HyperText Transfer Protocol pr.php type IMAGE.


http (hyper text transfer protocol) is just a language used by computers to talk to each other. that's why all websites, even GT, begin with "http".

pr.php is a file name for a file written in a language called PHP. It can be used to access databases (like when you fill out a form to buy something online), adjust cookies, login/logout, etc.

someone will probably point out why some of that is technically wrong, but it might help you out a little.

neither phrase has anything to do with your problem.

plato
10-20-2004, 15:39
So, it's not my settings then but their issue, their problem?

Cause I felt that this happened right after my last update/upgrade of SpywareBlaster.

I thought that I may be blocking the image myself.

Also, I updated my JAVA??

HerrGlock
10-20-2004, 16:53
Originally posted by plato
So, it's not my settings then but their issue, their problem?

If you can see smilies, people's avatars, the submit and preview buttons and the ads at the top of the page, you're not blocking graphics.

The red X means the pic is no longer on the server it was on or has been renamed and the image link is bad as said above.

Go to google.com and see if you can see the graphic above the text box.
DanH

fastvfr
10-20-2004, 17:10
I always use the real Java instead of M$'s crappy Virtual Machine version, but it needs to be housebroken.

I always turn off Java's ability to put anything on the taskbar/tray, as well as its ability to Cache or Auto Update.

This helps the PC's online interactivity/operations immensely, but probably has nothing to do with the problems you are having with this image.

Can you run a Google image search for it and find another copy elsewhere? Or is it embedded in Web pages somewhere? Give us an idea of where you are seeing them if that's the case.

And more importantly, WHY are you using IE in this day and age?!

If you are using XP, did you install Service Pack II?

Good luck,

FastVFR

plato
10-20-2004, 17:33
If you are using XP, did you install Service Pack II?

No. I'm kinda scared to make the upgrade.

I turned off my MS windows update.

I'm on dial up. It would take a week to download SP2.