Yikes [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Yikes


Stephen
10-24-2004, 22:11
Long story short:

I was working on my company laptop while it was plugged into my home machine's keyboard, monitor, etc.

I inadvertantly changed the network ID of the company laptop to what my home network is (dunno why I was even there looking) forgetting that I was not on my HOME machine.

Here's the problem: I cannot login to my laptop anymore. Typically I enter in my name, password and pick a network/server to log into.

Now it just asks for my name and password of which NONE work. There is no longer a place for me to select where I want to login!

My home network can see the corporate laptop on the WiFi but that's about it.

Any ideas or suggestions on how to get in and change the setting(s) back??

TIA--

HerrGlock
10-25-2004, 06:06
Log in as local Administrator and change out all the networking stuff. When you plug into the work network, you should be okay.

It's not showing a workgroup/domain to log into because it's not talking to one. You may have changed the notebook's group when you were going to the home network.

DanH

Furant
10-25-2004, 12:28
Been there done that...

I actually didn't have the Admin password since that is reset automatically by my company's IT Dep't. You should either be able to log a call through your company's IT department, or you can actually reset the Admin password by rebooting to a Linux boot disk and changing the NT (or 2000 or XP) kernel. I used the following tool:
http://home.eunet.no/~pnordahl/ntpasswd/

WARNING: This makes modifications to the Windows kernel in ways that M$ didn't intend. But if the only other option is to re-image your machine, I have found this successful each of the dozens of times I have used it.

Stephen
10-25-2004, 15:07
Thanks for the feedback guys. I called our IT department and they remotely logged in and I am all squared away.

Thanks again.