How easy is it to set up a wireless internet connection at home? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : How easy is it to set up a wireless internet connection at home?

chisler
10-30-2004, 12:38
Hi folks- more noob questions..
I'm totally new to the wireless connection concept. I have a new Dell laptop that came with a built-in wireless card for "a, b, & g" connections. I already have high speed cable internet for a desktop PC at home and didn't expect to really need to use the laptop wireless capability at home. It turns out that I may soon need to use the wireless feature on the laptop to download business software updates occasionally and allow the company's support people to have "access to my laptop" through the internet so they can help configure the business software features to what I need.
Anybody know if I need to do get anything more than a wireless router at a retail store and follow whatever directions are in the box? I suppose I will want to leave the desktop PC hardwired somehow to the internet connection, with the wireless router attached to the the cable modem for wireless use with my laptop.
Also, is it usually explained in the wireless router instructions how to configure the router/laptop so that noone can "invade" my computer or internet connection? I've already noticed a few times in my home that a little icon pops up sometimes on the laptop: "A wireless internet connection is available, would you like to connect now?" I've never messed with that, it must be a nearby neighbor, but I would like to avoid causing a similar situation if I get my own wireless router.
Thanks.

10-30-2004, 14:50
Go with a B or G wireless router, A hardware is hard to find and costs more. Yes - I would leave the desktop connected via ethernet, only now it will be connected to the router instead of your cable modem, so you will need to pick up an extra ethernet cable along with the router - length depends on where you want the router to be placed.