web site access [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : web site access


crazydave
11-03-2004, 06:42
I have a couple of guys here in the shop using computer for things other than what it should be used for. Is there a program out there I can install and restrict sites by name and not by ratings? I would prefer that it was free.

Dave

Tennessee Slim
11-03-2004, 08:07
Add those sites to the hosts file. Presuming the OS is an NT derivative, itíll be in c:\%windir%\system32\drivers\etc. If itís Win95/98/ME, itíll be in C:\windows. For each site you want to block, add a line like this:

127.0.0.1 pornsite.com

Use the real URL, of course, not the Ďpornsite.comí in the example. Save and exit. Make sure whatever text editor youíre using doesnít add an extension to the file name. It has to be just Ďhostsí, with no .doc, .txt, or .rtf. Also make sure the user doesnít have permission to un-edit the file.

This causes that userís PC to resolve the naughty URL to its own IP address (localhost). If the user is knowledgeable enough, however, they can Ďpingí that URL from another (unrestricted) PC, note the siteís IP address in the response and use that IP address in the (restricted) PCís browser rather than the URL. Not perfect, but at least itís free.

Alternately, here (http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,1759,303992,00.asp) is a freeware (that I canít vouch for) that promises to do what youíre asking.

crazydave
11-03-2004, 11:32
Thanks for the fast reply Slim. Think I will go the software route since I am on a network. Just need to block this one computer. Make the lazy dweeb do some work.

Dave

lomfs24
11-03-2004, 12:39
Many routers also have a website blocking feature. However, the list of pornsites would eventually grow to enormous size.

NetNinja
11-03-2004, 20:48
Small question.

Are you the Network Administrator?

Be careful, you can get fired for messing arround with the companys property.

Just some helpful info.

crazydave
11-04-2004, 12:17
I run the Maintenance part of the operation. As long as I do this on the local computer and not the network I am okay.

Dave