MS Word Issue [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : MS Word Issue


Cinic
11-10-2004, 14:28
Another Word question for you guys.

Office 2003

Company gave us new transmittal and fax transmittal forms. Computers with Office 2000 can use the checkboxes. Computers with Office 2003 can't. If you click on them nothing happens. Right-clicks yeild choices of 'properties' and 'view code.' I can change them within the properties by setting the value to true. However this is unacceptable from a time and hassle standpoint.

Is there some safety or security setting that I need to change to get this working?

A google search gave me no help.

Let me know if I left out anything important.

Thanks.

_John

Cinic
11-11-2004, 10:43
bump for the lunch crowd...

Furant
11-11-2004, 12:06
I don't have Word 2003, but try this:
Tools>Protect Document>Forms>OK

Let me know if that works.

Joey

Furant
11-11-2004, 12:10
Actually, after re-reading, they're probably checkboxes that drive macros. Change security to medium:
Tools>Macro>Security>Medium>OK

You will then want to reopen the document. When it asks if you want to load the macros, say yes.

That might fix it.

Joey

Cinic
11-11-2004, 15:55
Thanks a bunch.

Would it be too unsafe to put it on low to avoid the prompt when opening? We have solid virus protection installed.

Furant
11-11-2004, 21:56
Personally, I think it would be unsafe. The only virus I've ever gotten on my home computer was a Word macro virus. It wasn't a huge deal to remove, but cause some annoyances. Also, I just like to know when I'm going to be loading a document or a spreadsheet that's running macros on my machine.

Anti-virus software could probably catch most of the issues that could arise, but I like redundance in computer security.

Your call. By the way, I'm guessing it worked.

Joey