slide early opening [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : slide early opening

paltic
11-12-2004, 23:40
may isa pang bala ang magazine ng p14 ng friend ko pero nag-oopen-slide na agad...;g ano kaya ang magandang gawin dito? tnx

vega
11-13-2004, 11:28
Check if the follower is pushing the slide stop. One of my mags did that. I grinded off a little plastic. If you have a caliper, check the lips too. It could be a little wider compared to the other one. Or the weak thumb could be pushing the slide stop in place.

vega

horge
11-14-2004, 03:56
I have no experience with the firearm, but basing it on my general understanding of autoloader mechanics...

If it's opening early, it might not BE the follower, yes?
If it's the early, early rounds locking up the slide, for instance, then the follower isn't anywhere near the slidestop lug. Maybe the mags are built differently than I'm imagining, but

I'm thinking the likely cause of the problem could be:

a) the slidestop lug is off spec, poking further into the magwell than it ought to, so that if a cartridge coming up the mag isn't TOTALLY backed up to the rear, its nose taps the lug up and locks the slide. Check by field stripping the slide off, then returning the slidestop to the frame. Insert a mag chock-full of live rounds, and then look at the clearance between slide stop lug and the topmost bullet. Take mag out, reassemble pistol, insert mag, chamber a round, rack it out. Take out the mag gently with as little disturbance as possible, and field strip the pistol again. Repeat preceding steps, checking for near contact between slide stop lug and cartridge nose (bullet).