LCD or CRT....What's Your Choice for Monitor? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : LCD or CRT....What's Your Choice for Monitor?

Nalapombu
11-15-2004, 22:26
Hey all,

I have never had a LCD screen except on a notebook about 4 years ago so I am not THAT experienced with them. I have seen them at stores and such and they look really good. Most of the time when they are set up next to a regular monitor the LCD will have a much better image in the screen than the CDT will.
I am getting ready to either build a new system or buy one. I have always had monitors and I am thinking of going with the LCD this time. At least I have to check them out in comparison. I also like BIG monitors, the one I have now is 21" and I can't see myself going below 19" and preferably staying at 21". I know that kicks the cost WAY up if I go with LCD.
The bottom line is if the extra money spent on the LCD is worth it? It looks as if the LCD is about 2x the price of a CRT when talking about the bigger sizes. Is the money better saved on getting a really nice CRT monitor instead of the LCD?
What are the pros and cons of the LCD monitor? I am not worried about the extra energy savings or the weight.
What's the skinny on the LCD's?
Thanks

Nala

Halo
11-15-2004, 23:22
LCDs have better geometry and a smaller footprint. CRTs still have better color reproduction and response time, though LCDs are gaining in those areas.

If you plan to use an LCD for a lot of gaming and video playback, make sure you find one with a low pixel response time. Some manufacturers now offer models with a response time of 12ms or less, which makes them much better for gaming than the more typical LCD which is somewhere around 25-30ms.

FYI - pixel response time refers to the amount of time needed to change the color of a pixel. If the pixel can't change color quick enough you will get a ghosting effect. This is most noticeable in action games and video.

fastvfr
11-16-2004, 11:20
CRT all the way for me!