"NTLDR is missing..." [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : "NTLDR is missing..."


ERASER
11-24-2004, 08:51
When I try to boot-up my home computer (XP Pro), I get the message: "NTLDR is missing...press Cntl/Alt/Delete to restart"
Rebooting doesn't help....same message pops right back up. I completely shut down for a while and restarted, but to no avail.
I popped the XP disk into my cd drive but the cursor on the dos screen just keeps blinking in the upper left corner and the idiot light on the front of the cd drive just blinks.
I can't seem to get into Safe Mode (maybe the computer needs to bootup farther along first??).

Is it time to get out the old shootin' iron and put the old nag out of her misery?

I thank you, in advance, for any help you might be able to provide.

Washington,D.C.
11-24-2004, 10:07
http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000465.htm

Washington,D.C.
11-24-2004, 10:10
Replacing the Boot Sector
If Ntldr is damaged or missing, or if the boot sector is corrupted, you can resolve either problem by using the Recovery Console http://www.microsoft.com/resources/documentation/Windows/XP/all/reskit/en-us/Default.asp?url=/resources/documentation/Windows/XP/all/reskit/en-us/prkd_tro_bohs.asp

Washington,D.C.
11-24-2004, 10:11
Using Recovery Console to Recover from Startup Problems http://www.microsoft.com/resources/documentation/Windows/XP/all/reskit/en-us/Default.asp?url=/resources/documentation/Windows/XP/all/reskit/en-us/prmb_tol_zldj.asp

Washington,D.C.
11-24-2004, 10:12
Troubleshooting Disks and File Systems
Windows® XP Professional provides improved troubleshooting tools for disks and file systems http://www.microsoft.com/resources/documentation/Windows/XP/all/reskit/en-us/Default.asp?url=/resources/documentation/Windows/XP/all/reskit/en-us/prkd_tro_blyy.asp

grantglock
11-24-2004, 10:42
hold one here, the most common problem is:


take the floppy disk out of the disk drive

ERASER
11-24-2004, 11:11
Thanks for the helpful links....I'll try printing them out here at work and give it a shot over the long weekend. I appreciate all of your input.


p.s.: Floppy drive was/is empty. I'll bet that happens a lot, though.

Roland-G23
11-24-2004, 15:53
Boot with a DOS boot disk that has fdisk on it.

From a command prompt, type: fdisk /mbr

Then try the repair console if that doesn't correct the problem.

I was all over grantglock's post of remove the disk from the drive. I don't know how many times I've seen that. :)

Washington,D.C.
11-24-2004, 16:12
If you can't get to repair console from the XP CD because of SP-1 or SP-2 being on the hard drive,you can make the six repair floppies from Microsoft and the commands for XP are "fixmbr" and "fixboot".

Washington,D.C.
11-24-2004, 16:15
If all of this fails you can try a repair install.Do this by choosing install from the XP CD and accepting the license and then you get a chance to press R for repair again.

ERASER
11-25-2004, 19:48
I noticed that one of the possible problems listed on one of those URL's you posted was a loose hard-drive cable. I unplugged 'em all and re-plugged 'em and, lo-and-behold, it solved the problem!

I have NO idea how any of those cable could have possibly come loose.....the tower NEVER moves....

Thanks again for the great links....they sure did the trick.
I greatly appreciate your expert advice.

Washington,D.C.
11-27-2004, 00:32
I had a loose hard drive cable once or twice.I was going to suggest that one but I forgot what the error message was,so I wasn't sure if it might apply to your PC.I think the drives get warm and the cables work loose.