Question? Playing Fluently [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Question? Playing Fluently

mrdoright04/05
11-29-2004, 14:55
I have been playing the guitar off and on for about 15-18 yrs now. And I still find myself struggling at times with songs that I know. And even worse learning new songs. How long did it take you guys and gals to play your instrument of choice "fluently"?

Berto
11-30-2004, 12:05
For me,it takes an hour of just rhythm stuff before the hands come alive for me and then it's scales.Unless you play every day for an hour or more,it can be tough hitting everything right cold.

biggerIS better
12-01-2004, 10:28
I agree, warm up is a big deal. If i havent done some scales or just plain ol strumming my chops suck! Also, you didnt say what kind of guitar you play but I can tell you that makes a huge difference as well. I play one of teh original Paul Reed Smiths with super slinky strings. I have tried every other kinda of guitar out there and none play as easy and as smooth as this one does...... at least for me.

mrdoright04/05
12-02-2004, 12:46
I have an Ibanez Performance Series 105SNT acoustic guitar. Its just me. I'll admit that I havent been playing as often as I should. I made a promise to myself to practice atleast an hour a day evryday. Thats the only way to get good again.;)

Im thinking about a new guitar. So you like the PRS? What kind of setup do you have?

I thinking of a Semi hollow electric. Peavey, Ibanez both have a couple that Im interested in.

biggerIS better
12-03-2004, 14:26