IT Professionals: Need Advice w/ Career Path [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : IT Professionals: Need Advice w/ Career Path

sgtlmj
12-08-2004, 08:55
I am a police officer and am interested in broadening my horizons, ie, putting some more letters after my name. I am adept at most aspects of computers and am called upon daily to fix someone's computer/networking issues.

I figure with my law enforcement background, a certificate in some sort of network security would springboard me into another career, should I become injured or disabled in my current job, or simply grow too old to keep up with the bad guys.

I'll probably start with the CompTIA A+, but I'm afraid that the class will be too basic for me as I've been immersed in computers since I was 10 and built my first Timex Sinclair.

Some questions that I have:

Can I skate by the A+ without taking a class? Maybe grab a study guide and hit it hard?

What should be next? Network+

There's an alphabet soup of certifications. If I'm looking for net security, what flavor of soup should I go for?

Thanks in advance.

AZ-Boog
12-08-2004, 09:53
I am not an "IT Professional", but I do work in the Technology sector (Semiconductors). What I've seen is IT being outsourced offshore (India/Pakistan/Singapore). You may want to re-think your career path before proceeding. Maybe do some research to find a growing niche where your skills can be utilized without the fear of the job being outsourced at some point in the future.

best of luck.

unixglocker
12-08-2004, 14:34
I really don't see outsourcing security to India as being likely anytime soon among people that have a brain inside their skulls.