2stroke or 4 [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : 2stroke or 4

noway
12-13-2004, 16:34
I'm task with buying a small HP outboard engine ( under 10hp) for a 14ft jon Tracker boat. I was looking for the simple and easy to fix 2stroke motor. Any pros/cons for getting a 4stroke job.? Once again I was looking for the best $$$s spent per HP and easy in repair. I also have no problems with pre-mixing the oil & gas.Any comments?

As a side question have anybody had any bad reviews on buying a used marine outboard? and/or can reccommend a good engine rebuilder that provides at least 3-6months warranty?

SnooseGoose
12-13-2004, 18:20
I'm no expert but in general your 4 stroke will cost a little more than your 2 stroke. It will also usually weigh more if weight is a concern. With the 2 stroke you have to mix the gas (which you said isn't a problem) and it's smokes a little more due to the mixture. For my money, especially with a smaller kicker like you are looking for, I would go with the 2 stroke, but if a small cost increase isn't a problem then the 4 stroke is probably nicer just for convience sake. You'll be served well with either.

SG.

vafish
12-13-2004, 20:22
Besides poluting less, the 4 strokes also get much better fuel milage (or would it be knotage?)

And another advantage is that if you do a lot of low speed trolling you won't foul the plugs like a 2 stroke will.

MarkCO
12-13-2004, 20:47
I'd hardly say that 4 strokes get much better mileage than 2 strokes. The main benefits of 4 strokes over 2 strokes are less noise, less polution, less sensitivity to rpm and altitude (unless you use dial-a-jets in the 2 stroker). However, 4 strokes weight more for the same HP output and they lack some torque head to head.

If you want to troll, the 4 stroke is a better option. If you are looking for inexpensive, the 2 stroke is better.

leeinmemphis
12-13-2004, 20:55