Bow Hunters, a question please [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Bow Hunters, a question please

BlackBelt
12-14-2004, 19:45
I've been thinking of getting a bow. I don't know any bow hunters, and I don't have any archery shops in my town, so I was hoping that you guys could help me out with some basic info. I know these questions will seem stupid, but I've never done this before, and I was hoping you guys could answer some newbie questions.
I'm right handed, so I would draw with my right hand. Does that make my bow a 'right handed' bow, or a 'left handed' bow, since I'm holding it in my left hand?
Also, I see 60# bows, and 70# bows. Is that the number of foot pounds it takes to draw it? Is one preferable over the other?
And finally, what does a "80% let-off" mean to me practically?
Thanks for any help you can give.

AAshooter
12-14-2004, 20:26
First, let me say I am not expert at bow hunting. However, I will offer my comments and suggestions.

You need to find a professional bow shop. You need to get the equipment match and fitted so it works with you. Buying a set out of the Cabalas catalog is probably not the way to go about this.

The pull weight of the bow should be as heavy as you can manage comfortable in all conditions and situations. So, it is one thing to be standing there in the shop at 70 degree in comfortable clothing and feet firmly planted in a fighter's stance. It is another to do so in some of the ackward positions required during hunting and in some of the environmental conditions you hunt in. Imagine being cold, tired and sleep deprived. One exercise they had us do in my bow class was shoot the bow from a seated position with both feet off the ground. A pro shop can help you figure this out.