Is PQI a good brand for RAM? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Is PQI a good brand for RAM?


SanduneCC
12-14-2004, 18:50
They have the lowest prices that I've seen for PC3200.

Washington,D.C.
12-14-2004, 22:22
I haven't heard of it.Beware of cheap memory.At least try to stay with some known brands.

fastvfr
12-14-2004, 23:50
I have seen PQI before. I found it's quality to be lower than most House Brands!! That's really bad, if you were wondering...

I have always used Corsair XMS TwinX DDR, and though it is expensive, it is indeed worth it. Though I recently broke from tradition and got some OCZ PC3200 Premier DDR on sale, $179 for two 512MB matched DIMMs at 2.5-3-3-7 timings.

Though the MOBO initially disliked it, and I thought there was something wrong with it, I patiently tuned the board to run with that RAM, and it totally rocks now!!!

BTW, that PQI stuff costs more for equvalent RAM than OCZ does! (http://www.computerhq.com/PQI_1GB_512MB_x_2_Turbo_PQI3200_1024DAH/products/partinfo-id-496216.html) On ComputerHQ, anyway...
http://www.computerhq.com/images/0496000_0496999/496216_h.jpg

^^Bad. That is $189.00!!!^^

http://www.ocztechnology.com/images/products/memory/b/pc-3200-ecc-b-1.jpg

^^^Cheaper, and still WAY BETTER!!!^^^

Peace out.

SanduneCC
12-15-2004, 08:53
Cool, thanks.