Dual Sport Dilemma [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Dual Sport Dilemma

DeetsMan
12-15-2004, 10:36
Here is my dilemma, I am just getting into motorcycles. My plan is to get into the woods on back roads. I was told in order to ride on many of the forest service roads my bike must be street legal. I donít want to do much street riding and will be taking my family along. My wife and I have looked at Yamaha, Suzuki and Kawasaki. The only bike we have ridden was the Yamaha TW200 My wife likes this one the best. This bike seems questionable to me, I would like to see her on more of a dirt bike like the Kawasaki KLR250 but the Yamaha salesman told us if we will be mainly on dirt roads the Yamaha TW200 would be the best bike for her.
I also think that the KLR 250 would be the best dual sport bike for me. However 4 of my hard core dirt bike friends say in less than a year I wonít be happy with a 250 and that I will want more power and that a 400 should be the smallest bike I should consider. They all say the DRZ-400 would be the perfect bike for me. I tell them these 48 year old bones would do just fine on a 250, but its hard to argue against 100+ combined years of dirt bike experience. So I think why not get what I need the first time instead of going through three bikes before I find the one thatís right for me.
Very confused at this point.
Any opinions would appreciated. Does anyone know of a better site to address this question to?
Thanks

vafish
12-15-2004, 14:44
You got me by about 8 years in age.

When I lived in Austalia I had a Honda XR250 (dual sport over there). I've ridden the DRZ400, XR400, XR600 and KLR650's. A 250 was fine for me (but that DRZ400 was really nice).

DRZ400 was my favorite and what I would buy now if I were looking for a dual sport. The XR400 was a close second. The 650's were to big and heavy for serious dirt use.