Xp [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Xp


rimfire22
12-26-2004, 13:33
My father in law has an old machine I think it is a 400. Can it run XP. He does not do alot with it except browse and e-mail. I just feel xp would be earier for him to use.

RaiderRodney
12-26-2004, 14:09
I have XP on my old HP and it has made it MUCH better. It is a P3 500mhz with 384 mb of RAM.

NetNinja
12-26-2004, 14:16
Better have at least 256MB of memory.

fastvfr
12-26-2004, 14:29
One piece of advice: DO A FULL INSTALL. You can buy the cheaper Upgrade CD, but remove the old partition first! It'll just ask to see the Win9x disk (to prove you've already been robbed by the M$ licensing fees) before it'll let you install XP.

Back up all of the vital data and then reformat the drive as an NTFS volume before installing XP.

Upgrading XP on a FAT32 filesystem can cause no end of ridiculous problems. Avoid it at all costs.

erikd65
12-26-2004, 14:35
Here's What You Need to Use Windows XP Professional
PC with 300 megahertz or higher processor clock speed recommended; 233 MHz minimum required (single or dual processor system);* Intel Pentium/Celeron family, or AMD K6/Athlon/Duron family, or compatible processor recommended

128 megabytes (MB) of RAM or higher recommended (64 MB minimum supported; may limit performance and some features)

1.5 gigabytes (GB) of available hard disk space*

Super VGA (800 x 600) or higher-resolution video adapter and monitor

CD-ROM or DVD drive

Keyboard and Microsoft Mouse or compatible pointing device

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/pro/evaluation/sysreqs.mspx

E

SamBuca
12-26-2004, 14:49
My former desktop is a p3/550 with 384 ram and 36 gig scsi drive. It isn't exactly the fastest machine out there, but it ran XP.

rimfire22
12-26-2004, 15:32
Thanks for the info

jack19512
12-27-2004, 04:48
I have a Gateway 450 with 128MB of ram and I run XP Pro, runs great.

fastvfr
12-27-2004, 18:00
You can also just start the XP CD while the old OS is running; there is an app on it that checks the PC's readiness for an XP install.

lomfs24
12-27-2004, 19:32
I have XP running on an AMD K6-II 450 with just over 300 MB of RAM. Haven't have a hitch...except the normal AMD/ Windoze glitches. Actually, XP was a vast improvement over Win98