Do you use a Heart Rate Monitor? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Do you use a Heart Rate Monitor?


WERA49
12-28-2004, 19:15
I just received a Polar A5 HRM. It is great! It is easy to use.

This model will calculate VO2Max. Very cool.

http://www.coloradocyclist.com/common/products/productdisplay2_v2.cfm?PRRFNBR=22978&S=22977,22978,27734,20070,29821,34553,28682,33684,12111,24608,24609,27091,24610,24604,16241,24603,12 150

tgtshuter
12-30-2004, 00:34
I used one briefly when I first got serious about running - making sure I stayed with in my "target range".
It soon becme a hassle for me,and I got to where I could tell what my heart rate was at without having to use a monitor.

But...the one I used was a very basic one, no stopwatch or nothing. So I was wearing 2 "watches", plus the chest strap...ugh.:(

WERA49
12-30-2004, 06:01
The HRM that I have transmits a signal to the treadmill for HR. That way, I don't need a watch. Reducing clutter is nice. :)

RWBlue
12-30-2004, 11:32
I was using one when I was bicycling. I think it is esential for anyone who is a serious cyclist (loose wieght or competition).

I quickly learned that I could only increase my peddle rate to a point before my heartrate skyrocketed. I could shift to a hire gear and go faster with less heart rate, but the mussels in my leggs would wear out. It is kind of like driving a car without a speedometer or tach.

I was able to keep my heart rate in the best burn calory area.
When I didn't push hard enough, I increased peddle rate or shifted to a hire gear.