Slipstreaming SP2 [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Slipstreaming SP2


Bronson7
01-13-2005, 11:44
Well, I finally attempted this using Autostreamer and ran into a few problems. I was trying to slipstream the SP2 cd I had received from MS into my SP1a on a new cd. Everything I've read about slipstreaming says you must have a .exe file for the sliptreamed package. My SP2 cd has no such file. Folks are saying that it can be done. The closest thing to it is a XPSP2 .cab file (about 266 megs). Autostreamer accepted it and was able to create an iso file from which I burned an image. This new cd auto ran fine and I decided to take the plunge and go ahead and reformat/load. Well everything appeared to work correctly. Under SYSTEM, my OS was showing SP2 and I also had the security sytem in the SETTINGS window. I started loading my drivers that came with my mobo and got a dialogue that said other drivers were already installed and to uninstall them before proceeding. Well, knowing that drivers can really get hosed without a reboot for un-install/re-install and because I thought during a reboot Windows would just re-install it's own drivers again, I decided not to load the mobo drivers. Everything seemed to go well. Good sound, good video with the correct res, etc. Later, when I tried to video conference with one of my kids, video started acting up . My screen would go black for a second and then come back. It acted much like changing a setting in the display properties. Soooo, I reformated/loaded my XPSP1a cd and I've come full circle.

Here are some of my questions:
1. Can this SP2 cd realy be slipstreamed without an .exe file? I tried downloading the IT version but by having dial-up, it didn't make it through.

2.Did MS start sending out later SP2 cds with the .exe file? I ordered mine when They first became available, I'm thinking later cd's may be different just for the purpose of slipstreming.

3.The size of my Slipstreamed cd is only 30 megs larger than my original, yet an SP2 download through MS update is 80 megs for my system. That doesn't seem right to me. Does it to you?

4. Exploring a slipstreamed cd, is there a way to actually know if it's correct without actually loading it?

Thanks
Bronson7

Washington,D.C.
01-13-2005, 12:03
http://bink.nu/Forums/ShowPost.aspx?PostID=5760

Washington,D.C.
01-13-2005, 12:06
http://www.theeldergeek.com/slipstreamed_xpsp2_cd.htm

Bronson7
01-13-2005, 12:58
Tanks, Washington! Got a handle on my "percieved" problem.
Bronson7

Washington,D.C.
01-13-2005, 15:45
I believe the .exe file is the SP2 download not the CD. http://www.winsupersite.com/showcase/windowsxp_sp2_slipstream.asp While this is copying, obtain the Full Network Install version of Windows XP Service Pack 2 (272 MB), which you can download from the Microsoft Web site or copy from the Windows XP SP2 CD-ROM. The download version of this file is named WindowsXP-KB835935-SP2-ENU.exe, while the CD version is called xpsp2.exe. However, both are identical, save for the name. For this reason, I will refer to the simpler xpsp2.exe below, but you can substitute WindowsXP-KB835935-SP2-ENU.exe for that (You can also rename WindowsXP-KB835935-SP2-ENU.exe to xpsp2.exe if you'd like). Now, create a new folder called sp2 on the C drive (C:\sp2) and then copy this file to that location. http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyId=049C9DBE-3B8E-4F30-8245-9E368D3CDB5A&displaylang=en

Washington,D.C.
01-13-2005, 18:12
http://club.cdfreaks.com/showthread.php?t=103629&page=1

Washington,D.C.
01-13-2005, 18:19
http://www.helpwithwindows.com/WindowsXP/winxp-sp2-bootcd.html

Washington,D.C.
01-15-2005, 01:09
http://www.ntcompatible.com/thread21978-1.html