How to get a modem to work with Red Hat Fedora? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : How to get a modem to work with Red Hat Fedora?


oldsmith
01-17-2005, 19:44
My search of the web didn't turn up anything obvious. It works fine, but would be better if I could serf the web. I understand that the modem may require a specific chip, but don't know which one.

Thanks!

bangelo
01-17-2005, 19:52
I had a hard time finding the right drivers for my modem when i installed red hat the easiest solution i came up with is to get an external modem and that solved all my problems. you can get the real cheap just look around on ebay and stuff. good luck

David_G17
01-17-2005, 19:54
if it's an internal modem (and 56k) odds are it only runs in windows.

the only internal modems i've found that weren't software driven and were 56k (the ones that will work in linux) are around $50-$70.

i've never dealt with these guys, but this modem works fine in FC 1.

http://www.pcdirectsource.com/Item.cfm?ID=930

i've seen it for sell for less than $15 some places.

oldsmith
01-17-2005, 19:57
I could try my 14.4 external, but I doubt I'll use it long.

Washington,D.C.
01-17-2005, 20:02
You have to know exactly which modem you have and you may or may not be able to get drivers for Linux.Basic modem funtion is possible but full speed and/or other features likely won't work.

Washington,D.C.
01-18-2005, 00:12
http://www.linux.org/docs/ldp/howto/Modem-HOWTO.html

Washington,D.C.
01-18-2005, 00:13
http://www.linuxant.com/drivers/

Washington,D.C.
01-18-2005, 00:14
http://pctelcompdb.sourceforge.net/

Washington,D.C.
01-18-2005, 00:19
An external serial dial-up modem run in Fedora Core 3, itís a D-Link (DFM-560EL).

HOWTO configure dial-up modem in Fedora Core 3:
1. Connect the modem to serial port. Know the port number, most PCs with only one external port connect to COM1 or serial port 0. This is /dev/ttyS0 in newer Linux systems. COM2 is /dev/ttyS1 and so on.
2. GOTO Applications menu > System Settings > Network. Be root.
3. GOTO Hardware tab. Create new hardware (modem).
4. Change modem device to corresponding modem port, e.g. /dev/ttyS0
If you wish to use /dev/modem, put up a symbolic link by typing in the console:
ln -s /dev/modem /dev/ttyS0
5. Set BAUD RATE to 115200, FLOW CONTROL to NONE, Modem volume to LOW. Use TOUCH TONE DIALING if your phone line uses touch tone, most lines do.
6. GOTO Devices tab. Create new MODEM CONNECTION.
7. Fill in your ISPís dial-up number, login name and password.
8. Select AUTOMATICALLY OBTAIN IP ADDRESS SETTINGS (most providers do), else fill in you assigned IP address, subnet mask, and gateway.
9. After creating the profile, locate it in the list and ACTIVATE. If you did not turn off the dialing volume, you will hear your modem scream (called the handshake).
10. Lastly, open Firefox (your favorite browser) to browse the Internet.

Washington,D.C.
01-18-2005, 00:25
Fedora Core 3 doesn't seem to detect serial modems as easily as Mandrakelinux.In Mandrake hook up serial modem and dial ISP using kppp.

David_G17
01-18-2005, 09:45
Originally posted by Washington,D.C.
You have to know exactly which modem you have and you may or may not be able to get drivers for Linux.Basic modem funtion is possible but full speed and/or other features likely won't work.

actually, you need to know the chip on the modem. some modems with the same model number have been known to have different chips, and some work and some don't. with software modems it's usually just a guessing game.

David_G17
01-18-2005, 09:48
Originally posted by Washington,D.C.
Fedora Core 3 doesn't seem to detect serial modems as easily as Mandrakelinux.In Mandrake hook up serial modem and dial ISP using kppp.

it's more of a KDE vs. GNOME issue

Furant
01-18-2005, 09:51
To identify the chip on the modem, go here:
http://www.linuxant.com/drivers/modemident.php?PHPSESSID=dc2b284ff30e18ec994a0a65c7905ec7

If it's a Conexant HSF, as mine was, download and install this driver (this is the older free version - the newer ones have a 14.4kbps limitation unless you register).
http://maher.eu.org/hsfmodem/hsflinmodem-5.03.27.tar.gz

Joey

Washington,D.C.
01-18-2005, 10:04
Originally posted by David_G17
actually, you need to know the chip on the modem. some modems with the same model number have been known to have different chips, and some work and some don't. with software modems it's usually just a guessing game. Yes I have one older hardware modem,a US Robotics "Hawk".It's not as difficult as a software modem but there is a later Hawk that takes a different driver.Then there are semi-hardware modems and software modems.The software modems are the most difficult in Linux.

Washington,D.C.
01-18-2005, 10:33
Linux modem drivers here http://www.linmodems.org/

Washington,D.C.
01-18-2005, 10:34
Info http://www.math.sunysb.edu/~comech/tools/PCImodems.html

Washington,D.C.
01-18-2005, 10:35
http://modemsite.com/56k/linux.asp

Washington,D.C.
01-18-2005, 10:35
http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/Modem-HOWTO-2.html

Washington,D.C.
01-18-2005, 10:36
Older info http://www.tldp.org/HOWTO/Hardware-HOWTO/modems.html

Washington,D.C.
01-18-2005, 10:38
Laptops and notebooks http://tuxmobil.org/modem_linux.html

Washington,D.C.
01-18-2005, 13:53
http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/archive/index.php/t-23396.html

Washington,D.C.
01-18-2005, 13:54
http://www-306.ibm.com/pc/support/s...ocid=MIGR-52698

Washington,D.C.
01-18-2005, 13:57
http://www-306.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/document.do?lndocid=MIGR-52698

oldsmith
01-18-2005, 18:07
Thanks Washington DC, I'll be busy for a while.

Washington,D.C.
01-19-2005, 12:00
http://www.linuxant.com/drivers/hsf/install.php?PHPSESSID=26c549046723e596433e8c7f51619994

Washington,D.C.
01-19-2005, 12:01
http://www.linuxant.com/drivers/hsf/index.php

Washington,D.C.
01-19-2005, 12:02
http://www.linuxant.com/drivers/

Washington,D.C.
01-19-2005, 12:03
http://www.linuxsolved.com/forums/forum8.html