first post in Tech talk [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : first post in Tech talk


Kimelac
01-20-2005, 15:30
Hi all. I have a question I was hoping that someone could help me with - well the answer anyways.


I have linksys router hooked up to my cable modem, and 3 home computers hooked into the router.

The IP address of the cable modem is set by DHCP, the WAN address of the router is set by DHCP from the cable company.

The address of the router itself on my home network is 10.10.10.1 and the computers are (cabled) 10.10.10.100, and (wireless)10.10.10.101 thru 10.10.10.105.

I have no problems whatsoever with the cable connection, nor the home network.

On all computers I have Norton Internet Security, and Norton AntiVirus. NIS has a feature to log all requests to and from the internet, but stores it locally on each computer.

On the linksys router it also has a feature to save access logs, incoming and outgoing, and it either broadcasts them to any computer running logviewer software (10.10.10.255) or you can specify which address to send the logs to. I am running logviewer on the cabled computer, and I have tried both ways to have the logs sent to it (broadcast and speficially stating the IP).

The reason I want to do this is so that I can monitor what my children are doing on the internet, and yes I have lists of sites that are approved and everything else is blocked, but I also want to monitor if their computers are being 'attacked' at all, without the need to go to that specific computer. While each NIS on each computer does this, the router should do it at a central point before the request go to or come from the cable modem.

Here's the problem. Whenver I either try to view the access logs on the router itself, or by using logviewer, neither show any outbound requests at all from any computer. It supposed to show the IP address, the URL and address of the requested site, and the date and time. However it's blank. I have tried to shut off the firewall and NIS to see if that would make a difference, on my computer, but even viewed on the router itself the log is empty.

What would keep the requests from being logged? any ideas? your help is greatly appreciated.

thanks in advance,

Kimelac

fastvfr
01-20-2005, 22:05
My guess is that Norton is somehow blocking that function.

Just a hunch, but once you have spent some time here, you'll become familiar with my feelings toward all things Symantec...

Even if you turn them off, NAV and NIS are still active in memory. Try uninstalling it from one of the machines to test this theory.

And, welcome to the forum!

GL

NetNinja
01-20-2005, 22:39
Kimelac:

Seems like you know what you are doing.

Your cable company provides a DCHP address to your cable modem?
They must be using the MAC address of your modem

When you go into status on your Linksys interface what is the WAN IP address? It not a 10.10. address or a 192.168 address.
That should never change.
Don't post the address just the first two octets.

I was cruising the Linksys site and there isn't much detail about people not being able to access the log files.

I was trying to find that logviewer software but had no luck finding it on thier site.
I want to install it and see if I run into the same problem.
You have a copy of it?

OOPS nevermind! I found it.

Washington,D.C.
01-21-2005, 00:04
Here are some links to a website and software for all things to do with Linksys routers excellent website http://www.allaboutjake.com/network/linksys/befw11s4/ software http://www.marcsweb.com/mnweb_software.shtml and http://www.kiwi-enterprises.com and http://www.bttsoftware.co.uk/snmptrap.html and http://www.sonic.net/wallwatcher/ and http://www.linklogger.com/ and the latest Linksys log viewer software ftp://ftp.linksys.com/pub/befsr41/logviewer.exe

Washington,D.C.
01-21-2005, 00:07
Linksys support http://www.linksys.com/support/support.asp?spid=1 and http://www.linksys.com/support/support.asp?spid=68

Kimelac
01-21-2005, 12:26
Originally posted by NetNinja
Kimelac:
Your cable company provides a DCHP address to your cable modem?
They must be using the MAC address of your modem


They are.

When you go into status on your Linksys interface what is the WAN IP address? It not a 10.10. address or a 192.168 address.
That should never change.
Don't post the address just the first two octets.


69.168.xxx.xxx

I have also opened my firewall for UDP port 162, and still the logs dont seem to come thru. They also still dont show up on the router configuration pages either. I am leaning towards it being a router problem, and not just my computer or NIS or my firewall letting it thru.

argh.

NetNinja
01-21-2005, 14:30
Is there a newer firmware out for your router?

If there is Flash the Router Or flash it again.

There is no reason why you should not see some sort of traffic on the Routers logs.