How do I learn to Hunt? Complete Newbie in PA [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : How do I learn to Hunt? Complete Newbie in PA

chiefscott1701
01-24-2005, 09:59
This may sound like a really annoying question, but I have never hunted before in my life. Typical blue state suburbanite upringing, if you know what I mean. Now I own/carry handguns, and have a home defense shotgun. I go to the indoor range all the time, and am starting IDPA. But as I read gun magazines and books, hunting is constantly mentioned (of course). I browse hunting supplies, watch those Sunday morning hunting specials, and think it looks like a lot of fun. But of course---I have no clue how to start! According to John Kerry, it involves crawing around on my belly looking for deer (who I presume also like crawling on their bellies)..... since he's not exactly Ted Nugent, I figure I need some better info. Honestly, I have no clue what I would do with a deer once I actually shot one. Put it in the back of my Saturn?

So--is there some sort of "guided" hunt I could go on where a tour guide can show me what to do, what not to do, and help me out? I'm in Philadelphia, so anything nearby would be great. Or, if a fellow Glock Talker wants to introduce a newbie to hunting on your next trip? :)

lethal tupperwa
01-24-2005, 10:02
the teacher will be able to answer a lot of your questions as well.

In some states it is required before getting your hunting license.

noway
01-24-2005, 10:57
I have to disagree, the hunter safety course "won't teach you how to hunt" ( at least the 2 I've sit in on ) but it will gives you pointers on hunting and over view into the laws and ethical issues with hunting.

You best bet is to hook up with an experienced hunter that 1> hunts the type of game you will be taking 2> hunts the areas that you plan to hunt in.