I Am the AAAV [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : I Am the AAAV

Mickmedic
01-24-2005, 12:56
I Am the AAAV
(Americans Against Automobile Violence)

I am writing as the founding (and so far only) member of the Americans Against Automobile Violence (AAAV). Automobile violence is an epidemic in this country which claims millions of innocent lives each year, and yet for the most part goes unnoticed. I am working for the complete and total elimination of all automobiles, except for those to be used by law enforcement and the military.

I am a paramedic, and as such, I bear first-hand witness to the death and destruction that is doled out by these conveyors of mass destruction.

First and foremost, the criminal activity associated with automobiles, primarily cars, is unfathomable. Everyday, millions in the United States fall prey to cars used for the commission of robberies, drug dealings, rapes, kidnapping, child molestations, and many other terrible criminal acts. Worst of all are the cop killing cars.

Couple this with the impaired drivers, and the numbers of criminal acts involving cars is off the charts. Every 31 minutes, someone is killed in an alcohol-related motor vehicle crash, and every 2 minutes, someone receives a nonfatal injury. During 2003, 17,013 people in the U.S. died in alcohol-related motor vehicle crashes, representing 40% of all traffic-related deaths (NHTSA 2004a).

The other 60% of traffic-related deaths are obviously caused by speeding or the improper handling or securing of automobiles, allowing them to be used by the criminal element.

In today’s world, we are unfortunately tasked with looking beyond the common criminal element to that of the terrorist element. Every day, around the world, hundreds, if not thousands, die from car bombing attacks. We have already seen on our own soil the massive death that can be inflicted by some common chemicals and an automobile.