Does firefox have problems with pdf files? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Does firefox have problems with pdf files?


UCF-Tacoma
01-29-2005, 15:55
Anytime I try to open one it either locks it up or it takes a long time. It's seems even worse when you go to close one. Anyone else have this problem or can offer a solution?

NMGlocker
01-29-2005, 16:22
Which version of the reader do you have?
Version 7.0 has been problematic for many people.

SamBuca
01-29-2005, 18:03
6.0.1 professional does that to me. I figured it was just that version...didn't get a chance to upgrade to 7 professional yet.

modgun
01-29-2005, 18:47
Im on the newest version, and no problems.

Washington,D.C.
01-29-2005, 19:14
This will speed it up http://www.majorgeeks.com/download4294.html

David_G17
01-29-2005, 20:30
i had to uninstall and then reinstall adobe reader to make it work on a computer.

fastvfr
01-29-2005, 20:33
It will not work properly a lot of times if you install Adobe first, then Firefox later.

Your best bet is just to uninstall Adobe reader 7.0, get yourself a copy of the better 6.0 version, and install that. As long as Moz or Ff are installed it will most likely work correctly.

And this app DC originally posted the link for can't hurt, either. (http://www.majorgeeks.com/download4294.html)

Washington,D.C.
01-29-2005, 21:45
Wow I have Acrobat Reader 5.I just saw that speed up utility is for up to version 6.x

podwich
01-30-2005, 20:48
Acrobat reader opens very slowly because it loads so much crap it doesn't need. I've done the following and it works quite well.


Install Adobe Reader 6 :)
From the Start->Run windows menu, Open the "x:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 6.0\Reader" folder, where x is the right drive letter.
Find the plug_ins folder and rename it plug_ins_disabled
Create a new folder named plug_ins
Copy the following files from "plug_ins_disabled" to "plug_ins": EWH32.api, printme.api, and search.api

(snipped from http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=1104 )

UCF-Tacoma
01-31-2005, 11:10
Thanks for the replies. I upgraded my version and ran one of the optimization programs from the provided link. I'll see how it does now.

grantglock
01-31-2005, 22:12
I think I've had more problems with adobe software than any other software on the planet. Firefox or no Firefox.

Glock30fan
02-01-2005, 02:21
We have Adobe 6.0.0 and Firefox 0.9.2 - Adobe locks up sometimes when trying to close it.