How did you get through Medic Class? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : How did you get through Medic Class?

jlw_84
02-08-2005, 00:10
I'm debating on entering the medic program. I've been a EMT-B for 4 years now.

Here's the situation, I work full time, as do most people. But the idea of maintaining my full time job and going through the Paramedic Program scares me. I want to devote myself to the Medic class 100%, but again I still have bills to pay.

I tried this before with the Police Academy, but as it turns out going to class full time 5-6 days a week and working 5 nights a week is not that easy. It was a disaster.

Did you keep your full time job and attend class and work in clinicals on your days off or what? My volly dept will pay for the class btw.

hotpig
02-08-2005, 11:49
I can hardly remember my class. It is just a blur in my mind because I was so tired. I worked full time at the Fire Department and full time running a County ILS Ambulance Service. If I had not had 15 years as a EMT, 10 of them as a EMT-I/D I would not have been able to make it.

I was able to skip the first part of the class and a boat load of clinical time since I was a I/D as they used to call them here. I did not have to do sticks and intubations since they are basic level and Intermediate level skills in my System.

I did take vacation time and cram my clinical hours in so that I could take the first test date after my class had finished. I could not imagine taking the class and working as many hours as I did at the time now.

The Fire District had sent me to the Police Academy three years before that it it was a lot easier. I did not have to work on the week ends when I came home. I took vacation time and a leave of absence from my Ambulance job. My income from both jobs were not effected while I was gone so I had not outside stresses to worry about.The fun that I had at the Police Academy was a 1000 times greater than the Paramedic Class.

N2DFire
02-09-2005, 10:40