Proposed VA Budget Cuts [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Proposed VA Budget Cuts

WIG19
02-08-2005, 09:05
My simple 'editorial' to my Congressman and both Senators. I'll say up front that I'm not a Democrat; but Teddy Roosevelt said it was my responsibility to call BS when I see it.
-----------
Dear Sir:

I'm writing to solicit your support in blocking the proposed cuts & changes to Veteran's programs that seem to be in the President's latest budget submission.

Let me make it clear that I fully support the Global War on Terror, our Commander in Chief and, as a Vietnam vet myself, fully support our troops. I have multiple immediate family members and a nephew who have already served multiple tours in Iraq and Afghanistan. With a VA hospital right in my town I maintain a connection to many of the vets I see pass through its halls. So this is not about foreign policy.

What it IS about is that, at a time when retention is alarmingly low and we ask more & more (indefinite extensions, "stop loss") of our finest, cherished resources in uniform, the President is attempting to give the shaft to those he would have stand up and take a bullet, or experience the constant daily anxiety of what's waiting for their vehicle around the next corner.