Concealed became REVEALED [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Concealed became REVEALED

Mickmedic
02-17-2005, 12:52
HIPPA Notice: The following info was broadcast on the 11pm news and is therefore in the public domain.
An employee of our local Wal-Mart suffered serious, but non-life threatening, burns from hot grease to upper portions of his body.

Now...how me and my gun became involved.
Im a paramedic (as if the name didnt give it away). ;f
I do have my CCW, but it is against departmental policy to carry while on duty.
I was off duty at the time. I had dropped my wife off at Wal-Mart to do some shopping, and I drove across the street to BlockBuster for some evening entertainment. Ironically, I passed one of our EMS crews on their way to dinner and called to chat briefly. Moments later, my wife called me and said someone had been badly burned at the Wal-Mart. I jumped in my truck...headed back over...called the crew and told them to meet me on scene.
I got there first, grabbed my jumpbag, ran inside and began assessing and treating the patient who was lying on the floor. While moving back and forth around the patient, I became keenly aware that my jacket had ridden up and was stuck above my G17 in my Uncle Mike's OWB holster. Of course there were several Wal-Mart managers and employees standing around taking in all that was going on. I continued to work on the patient, and nonchalantly pulled my jacket back down...a process I had to repeat a couple more times.
Anyway, the crew arrived, we packaged the patient up and had him airlifted to the Burn Center. The last I heard, he was doing well.
Nothing was ever said about my gun. I dont know if they were so focused on the patient that they honestly didnt notice it, were afraid to comment, or just thought all medics carry. (wouldnt THAT be great).
Just thought Id share.:cool:

Rob72
02-17-2005, 13:00