How to build strength but stay small? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : How to build strength but stay small?

03-05-2005, 20:27
Hello.

I have been working out for a 6 months or so. Im benching around 230 or so right now (I weight 180 BTW), and my goal before Christmas is to bench 300. Also, I squat around 375 and hope to get around 450 or so by Christmas.

However, while I do want to get stronger, I want to stay smaller. I dont like the bulky look as much as I do like the slim muscular look.

Does anyone know of a way to get smaller while still increasing my strength? Would doing high reps help out, becuase right now im doing short, heavy reps right now.

Thanks!

Wet Dog
03-06-2005, 07:47
Your genetics will have a lot more to do with how big and/or strong you can get than anything else.

My brother has always been a "hard gainer." No matter what he tries he still has bird legs. He has even tried to do it chemically... He has a training diaries dating back for almost 30 years to when he was 12.

Conversely I've always been an "easy gainer." Though we have the same parents, I've always been able to put more muscle on than him. I'm the one who gets accused of using roids and I'm 100% natural. He's always been stronger though. Big doesn't mean strong.

Keep a training journal. Measure and weigh yourself. If you start getting bigger than you want to be, change your routine. See what works for you. Try routines that weight classed powerlifters use.

It's easy to lose muscle, just quit using it and it goes quick. Fat takes a lot more work to loose.

"If you're not getting stronger, you're getting weaker."

Good luck!

spober
03-12-2005, 10:42
bp from 180 to 300
squates from 375 to 450