Mule Kills Mountain Lion: Is this real? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Mule Kills Mountain Lion: Is this real?

wl2pwr
03-08-2005, 13:35
http://www.blackbearheaven.com/horse-kills-cougar.htm

Check the above link. I found it amazing since I always considered Mountain Lions the most dangerous North American, mammalian predator after the Grizzly. Perhaps it was young/inexperienced or old?

Either that or a hoax.

I have no experience with either Mules or Mtn. Lions, and wonder what the Westerners think.

wade farley
03-08-2005, 13:48
:cool: ;f

Dandapani
03-08-2005, 14:28
http://www.snopes.com/photos/animals/mulelion.asp

Claim: Photographs show a mule attacking (and killing) a mountain lion.

mpol777
03-08-2005, 15:07
This has been shown here before. My personal opinion is that the lion was already dead when the mule went at it. My reasons:

1) One of my friend's mules stomped a mud hole in two very dead coyotes I left near the corral. The same mule is worthless for bear hunting. It goes nuts anytime it's even near a bear hide. Some mules just can't get past the thing being a predator. One of the reasons donkies and some mules, depending on which took more of a hold on them, aren't good around dogs.

2) Having your picture taken with your quarry on the back of your mount is very common. It lets the hunter show off his mule/horse and what he bagged all in the same shot. No man in his right mind would grab a camera instead of a gun if a live mountain lion was going after his mule. My guess is the lion was loaded up for a picture and the mule decided he wanted to make sure what was on his back was dead first.