I started tuning my new carb last night [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : I started tuning my new carb last night

Ghetto
03-08-2005, 16:54
What an adventure ;P

Now keep in mind that I am a carb newb,I know more than the average Joe but that's about it. I had a friend with me that knows just about as much as me about carbs so it was fun to say the least. From when we started at 5:30 in the evening to 2:30 this morning we had:

Fuel fountain through the front vent
A fireball ;P
Glowing red headers
Dead battery and a battery charger with some jumper cables attached ;P
Smoking out my apt complex
Started it with 7 plugs installed (whoops)
Swapped plugs twice
..and finally drove the car while it pinged so bad that we parked it for the night/morning.

Needless to say that it was intresting and I know my neighbors love me,glad I'm moving at the end of the month ;f

For those wondering it's a Holley 4150 650 chocked full of Barry Grant goodies ;)

phxtravis
03-08-2005, 21:10
carbs dont normally need that much adjustment out of the box, just minor ones to get the most performance. If you happened to live in phoenix, I could supply you some more tuning parts that I have lying around.

Geeorge
03-09-2005, 05:29
It sounds to me like the timing is off too or you have problems in the ignition system.

The fuel coming out of the front bowl vent was probably caused by the float being stuck in the down position.Is this a new carb or one that has been sitting awhile?

Ghetto
03-09-2005, 05:56
Originally posted by Cletus VanDamme
It sounds to me like the timing is off too or you have problems in the ignition system.

The fuel coming out of the front bowl vent was probably caused by the float being stuck in the down position.Is this a new carb or one that has been sitting awhile?