Pattern for rotating tires? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Pattern for rotating tires?

vart
03-09-2005, 19:57
I have two vehicles that are due for tire rotation, and I've never done it before.
I've rebuilt carbs, motors, tranny swaps, lift installs, etc. but I've never rotated my own tires;g .
I grew up about 1/4-mile from a Les Schwab tire store and it was always free.
One vehicle is a front-wheel drive car, and the other is a rear-wheel drive/4wd SUV.
What is the pattern I use?

Clydeglide
03-09-2005, 20:04
Either straight front to rear or X, your choice. Assuming all four are the same size. Also check your owner's manual.

:cool:

vart
03-09-2005, 20:08
Well that was simple;Q . Thanks!;)

CZ-75A
03-10-2005, 14:09
Rotation w/o balance isn't a very good idea. Every car, by virtue of its alignment settings and dynamic wear, will wear tires unevenly to some extent, meaning that they'll lose balance.

Front to back and vice versa works pretty well.

fnfalman
03-10-2005, 15:20
Either front to back or X is fine. I've had it done both ways and the tires wore fine. But you gotta do balancing and alignment too otherwise it's worthless. Right now I have dissimilar front and rear so it can only go side-to-side.

Clydeglide
03-10-2005, 16:27
Originally posted by fnfalman
Either front to back or X is fine. I've had it done both ways and the tires wore fine. But you gotta do balancing and alignment too otherwise it's worthless. Right now I have dissimilar front and rear so it can only go side-to-side.

If the tire wear is wearing evenly across and there is no tire shake there would be no need to rebalance or align.

I had a set of Michelins on my 96 Caprice. I rotated them twice in 60k miles and never had them rebalanced. An alignment was done when they were installed. They rode as smooth when I took them off as when I put them on. That's why I buy Michelin.

YMMV

:cool:

Ghetto
03-10-2005, 19:14
X

kshuart
03-10-2005, 19:22