What other types of lifting should I be doing? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : What other types of lifting should I be doing?

pagluy
03-24-2005, 09:40
Hi, I just started lifting weights a few weeks ago. I'm in pretty good shape, but weaker than I want. Right now I am doing mostly bench presses and curls. What other types of lifting should I be doing to increase upper body strength?

beavis1957
03-24-2005, 13:40
I don't get too specific w/ my workouts. I do Bench, some variation of curls, a tricep workout, a chest workout(flies, or pec machine), and a shoulder workout(you could do shrugs w/ dumbells or a military press type workout w/ either a machine, bar, or dumbells.

That's about all I'm doing on my upper body days cause right now I'm concentrating on cardio to lose weight. Hope this helps.

Glock9mmFan
03-24-2005, 14:00
Shoulders... shoulder extensions (sorta like flapping your arms slowly with weights)

Triceps... incline bench press

Back... good mornings (bow while holding weights) or deadlifts

Stomach... crunches

Quads... squats (make SURE to use proper form or you can injure yourself)

Hamstrings... can't remember name, but I use ankle weights, and lift the weight behind me with my leg

Calves... standing calf raises (stand on tip-toes basically)

That should give you a more complete workout. Might want to break it up and only work each muscle maybe once or twice a week.

California Jack
03-24-2005, 18:50
squat, front squat, overhead squat, hack squats, zerchers of all types,deadlift, stiff legged deadlift, bent row, chins, incline bench, standing press, dips, side press, weighted situps, sidebends and maybe farmers walk.

concentrate on compound movements

Jo Mama
03-29-2005, 17:43
I think your workout should be balanced. If you do flat bench do bent over rows. If you do incline press do some pull ups. If you do curls do french press or skull crushers..