Installing new line on my reel, how do I do it? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Installing new line on my reel, how do I do it?

Daddybro
04-03-2005, 09:17
I got the trout fishing bug again after a 3 year layoff. I stripped all my reels before putting them away. I need to put new line on them, but am wondering if there are any tricks to it. I always had the sporting goods store put new line on them, but I would like to do it myself. Is there any special knots I need to know? I am worried about a birds nest if I do it, mainly. Also, I have always fished off the bottom. I want to take my 9 year old boy with me this year and use a bobber. What is the best bait to use for this, and how do I rig a bobber? Will power bait work? Sorry for all the dumb questions, I am relatively new to fishing and always went with grandpa, who isn't here to help me along anymore. Thanks!

Pat Brophy

mpol777
04-03-2005, 09:31
The way I was shown way back when was to put the spool of line in a bucket full of water. Feed it through the rod and tie it onto the reel. Then reel in the line using your fingers to keep some tension.

J. Parker
04-03-2005, 10:05
Assorted power baits work great for trout here in Washington State. The PowerBait that looks like salmon eggs worked really great last year. If you use a spinning rod and reel use six pound test or so. For smaller trout I like six pound test because it casts better than heavier line. Also, last year I had good success with smaller spinners like a Kastmaster. What I'm really fond of is ultra-light spinning rods and reels. It's a small reel with a 5' rod and 4 or 6 pound test. Makes a 14" trout feel like a 5lb bass.;f

noway
04-03-2005, 11:53
spinninng and baitcast reel requires a differemt line insertion. I use a stern line holder and it place enough tension to line for proper line laying.

T-Dubb
04-10-2005, 16:56