just wondering [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : just wondering

BP44
04-16-2005, 16:51
Hi fellas i am new to glock talk ,and new to the EMS field for that matter :) i just wanted to say hi and tell the whole world that i just passed my EMT-B with flying colors

now for the question, my job as a wildland firefighter really doesnt let me use my skills that i have just learned.i am on a 20 person handcrew that ems is overated and not needed, i eventually plan to make the transition into structure but need some advice as to whether to continue with medical or focus on the fire aspect of things such as a fire science degree. just curious if anyone has ever been here before and what benifited them the most
THANKS for the input;c

vbscout
04-18-2005, 10:42
Hello and welcome! The real question that will help you to decide is are you wanting to do this as a career or a volunteer. I am a volunteer that is wanting to go career. I am a Firfighter I and a state EMT-B. Most of the jobs that I have been looking at want you to do both Fire and EMS. So if you are looking for a career you want to keep up with the EMS or go higher. As for your fire training you should go and get it either way. Right now I am going to graduate with a BS from Ferrum College, have my Firefighter II by the end of May and my EMT. I have applied for many positions and I havn't really heard back from many places. To me the key to getting hired is have your Firefighter and ALS if you can. Good luck on what ever you do.

:cool:

Cavalry Doc
04-21-2005, 20:15
Over rated??!? Not Needed??!??

19 years in the medical profession (military) has taught me something.

No one loves a medic until some one is bleeding. And the amount of that love is directly proportional to the amount of blood that's already been lost.