Computer freezes when using Spybot S&D [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Computer freezes when using Spybot S&D


bobbitybobbity
05-04-2005, 11:12
I click "fix problems" and everything freezes, even the clock. I've been able to fix other "problems", but whenever I try to fix SideFind, it won't. Any suggestions? Please translate to "non-geek" as my tech-ability is limited. Oh, here: Thinkpad 600E, Earthlink, W98se. Thanks for the assist in advance!;g

fastvfr
05-04-2005, 15:11
How long has Win98 been installed? Microsoft classifies it as 'degradable' and recommends reinstalling it from scratch every 12 to 18 months, FWIW...

I can keep it running indefinitely, but the costs can be prohibitive as the stupid thing develops beaucoup problems after awhile and the fixes can take awhile.

You might be able to get it going again by running Hijack This and deleting the BHO's that have installed themselves.

I strongly advise that you post the HJT log here so I can help you do that; it doesn't only show malware and can toast your browser if the wrong things are removed!!

The best course of action is to keep up with your backups, then fdisk and reinstall the OS every year or two.

Good luck!

bobbitybobbity
05-04-2005, 15:21
Oh, poo...I oglsnorked my grilnik. Now I can't even piddledip my framistat! Can you klebnoodle THAT? Actually, I'm just being goofy here. I can follow directions with the best of them. But, as much as I appreciate that you took the time and effort to help me, ya lost me... I really do appreciate it. Honest. I'll push any button you tell me to..;g

Washington,D.C.
05-04-2005, 16:21
I have one PC wirh Win98SE and it won't run SpyBot 1.4.I tried reinstalling SpyBot 1.3 which ran fine but it kept trying to go back to 1.4.I finally deleted enough stuff to get 1.3 to reinstall.Actually I used Go-Back.1.4 is not in final version.I think you likely have 1.3.Run AdAware first,then run SpyBot again.Run ScanDisk.Install Ccleaner .Download it from here http://www.ccleaner.com it replaces Win98SE cleanup utility that doesn't work and Microsoft never fixed it.

harrybosch
05-04-2005, 17:51
I had the same problem on an old computer running 98SE. I went back to an earlier version of Spybot from www.oldversion.com. Eventually upgraded to XP, everythings fine now with version 1.4

Blast
05-05-2005, 00:28
Have you tried running S&D in safe mode?

MB-G26
05-06-2005, 19:46
home of Spybot:
http://www.safer-networking.org/en/download/
Download sections:
Spybot - Search & Destroy 1.3 - product description
Application to scan for spyware, adware, hijackers and other malicious software.

Detection updates 2005-04-27 - product description
This updates the detection rules. Only needed if you do not want to use the update function integrated into Spybot-S&D.

Advanced check library update 2004-10-14 - product description
This is an update for a detection library. Only needed if you do not want to use the update function integrated into Spybot-S&D.

Skins - product description
Get new cool Skins for Spybot S&D

Support section of home page: http://www.safer-networking.org/en/support/index.html

Support boards:
Our forum at Net-Integration.Net [link]
The forum is a place of discussion where you can get quick help from other users and Team Spybot-S&D members. As many people use it, your question may have already been asked and answered there, so give it a try!

I'm having trouble getting the net-integration site to open at the moment, but apparently that's where SB S&D's support forums are now.
m

PS. Sometimes when I can't get in the front door to a site, I get in through google's "cache" of the site. I got in via this:
http://64.233.179.104/search?q=cache:7a2Fu-GMuVgJ:net-integration.net/main/content/category/4/7/25/+net+integration+net+spybot&hl=en

PPS. One more addition:
http://forums.spywareinfo.com/index.php?showtopic=46733
Apr 28 2005, 02:38 PM
A slightly amended 1.4rc2b version is now available (still called 1.4rc2); solves a couple of problems people found with 1.4rc2. So those who downloaded prior to 28 April might like to download again and install over the top.

Download from here as I'm not sure betanews would have that yet:
http://forums.net-integration.net/index.php?showtopic=25574

For discussion of the slight changes, see
http://forums.net-integration.net/index.php?showtopic=30240

This post has been edited by JRosenfeld: Apr 28 2005, 02:39 PM