How to customize an avetair [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : How to customize an avetair


Uncle Don
05-17-2005, 12:54
I admit that I don't lurk here and might explain why I'm asking something that has probably been discussed a thousand times. Unfortunately, the search feature is temporarily unavialible due to the problem Eric is having.

I would like to use a digital picture to personalize my avatair but it didn't work out just to use an existing .jpg file. I'm fairly computer literate (just have problems spelling), and a short explaination on how to do it would probably do the trick. I know there other more interesting things to discuss but if someone could give a few lines of advise, I would sure appreciate it.

MrsKitty
05-17-2005, 23:42
Why didn't it work out?

Too big?

It has to be a certian size to upload ;)

Uncle Don
05-18-2005, 07:24
The colors were very blurred and it didn't have any definition.

MrsKitty
05-21-2005, 00:00
Lost resolution....

What program did you use to resize it?

Uncle Don
05-21-2005, 07:33
I didn't resise it at all - I now see the problem. What size does it need to be reduced to and can I use most any graphic program?

g29andy
05-21-2005, 12:16
If you are running Windows, download "image resizer" from Microsoft powertoys site (free)
http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/downloads/powertoys/xppowertoys.mspx

Then you can right click any picture on your hard drive, select "resize image." Most boards have a limit to avatar sizes. Try resizing to 200 or smaller.

Uncle Don
05-21-2005, 16:48
Thanks very much for your help.

Michael Dean
05-23-2005, 10:10
Is there another program out there that resizes? I looked at the one suggested by "lovette", but it is only for Windows XP. I am running Windows 2000.

Thanks, Mike

g29andy
05-23-2005, 10:40
Never used it, but try Irfanview
http://www.tucows.com/preview/194967

Michael Dean
05-25-2005, 07:46
Lovette, I used the irfanview program to resize a picture. It worked great. Thanks for the tip.

Mike

g29andy
05-25-2005, 19:36
Glad it worked. Although I've never used IRfanview, others have given it a good review.