Opinions on mutual fund prices [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Opinions on mutual fund prices

ClydeG19
05-26-2005, 07:45
I'm still rather new to the whole mutual fund/401k/IRA scene, so I really don't know how these trends go. I tend to believe (no real evidence to support it) that I should avoid higher priced growth funds b/c the price can't go up much more. I suppose an income fund would be ok, but I don't see too many stocks and funds with triple digit selling prices.

What do you guys think?

DBradD
05-27-2005, 01:10
I don't know what you mean by "higher priced growth funds." I think that you're thinking about this incorrectly.

You should go out and buy a book on the subject of personal investing. There are lots of these geared toward the average beginner. It's really not too difficult if you keep it simple, and there's no reason to get fancy.

In a real quick nutshell (go out and buy a book!):

1. Don't buy any fund that's been around less than 5 years, preferably 10.

2. Look at the 5,10 etc year average returns to get an idea of how the fund has done over the long haul. You're looking for long-term performance and don't go chasing last year's returns. It doesn't matter if the fund did exceptionally well last year. Think long term track record.

3. Go to morningstar.com and look up your prospective funds. It ain't perfect, but they have some simple rating systems.

4. Do not try to time the market. Select your funds. Put dough in there. Forget about it, except for some very minimal monitoring. No matter what fund you choose, it will go up and down frequently. Taking your money out of the fund during a down time is equivalent to buying high and selling low. It's tempting to watch them closely, but most of us don't have the emotional stability to not lose sleep when our $150k from a few days ago is now $140k. It's better to not look.