Question that will make your brain itch and/or hurt....Long post [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Question that will make your brain itch and/or hurt....Long post

DTD2
05-27-2005, 15:49
First of all I am not a Police Officer nor do I aspire to be one. I respect you guy's (and Gal's) and the dangerous job you do.

My profession is fire inspector/investigator. I live in Wisconsin where they do not honor my 2nd amendment right (no CCW).

Today I got a disturbing phone call from a billing/collection agency. They were verifying me as a reference. It seems someone has my confidential personal information (first and last name, address, phone number).This person, to my knowledge, has not identified themselves as me, YET.

I obtained the persons name and ran it through the Wisconsin Circuit Court Access website.
http://wcca.wicourts.gov/index.xsl

I called the billing collection agency back and verified the name, DOB and last known residence of this person. All the information was confirmed.

This person has a history of aggravated strong arm robbery, accessory to robbery, theft, felony firearms possession, possession of marijuana, possession of paraphernalia, theft by false representation.

Obviously I do not know this person nor do I wish an encounter with him. He knows who I am, where I live and who knows what else.

I carry when at home but am prohibited by law (or so I thought/think) from concealed carry while “out”.

This got me thinking.

Question

Can I Carry Concealed as a Fire Inspector/Investigator???

Wisconsin CCW law.

941.23 Carrying concealed weapon. Any person except a Peace Officer who goes armed with a concealed and dangerous weapon is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor.

Local Ordinance.

Sec. 50-4. Firearms.