Akido For Lawenforcement Officer? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Akido For Lawenforcement Officer?

Security Office
05-31-2005, 14:12
I am a private security officer now but am going to be a police officer soon. As a private leo I work dagerous sites such as bars. Is Akido a good for of defense? If not what do you reccomend? I rulled out tae kwon do.

Hookkicks
05-31-2005, 14:39
Akido is good if you are willing to put the time in.

gr81disp
05-31-2005, 15:19
Aikido is useful but VERY hard to master and must come close to mastering it to put it to use in a real situation. I would suggest Muay Thai kickboxing, Kali stick fighting, and, as anyone who has read my posts before knows, Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu (Bjj). That should help you with all ranges, but if you want just one art to study, I would personally suggest Bjj.

MARTIN FISHER
05-31-2005, 17:17
Find a good Judo school. Most of what police officers do is simply moving people who do not want to be moved. Most offenders will not fight an officer until the officer grabs or attemps to grab the suspect. Judo is a good base art, is fairly common and adding strikes and submissions latter on will be simple. And you get to throw people around, which is always fun.

Oh, and spend some money on some real firearms trainining, pulling the trigger on a gun will either be the best choice you ever make as an officer or the worst.

garythenuke
05-31-2005, 18:11
Aikido is an okay art, but as mentioned above, extremely hard to master. You have to hope that you get a decent school. Many of them are so concerned with the ki-of-the-universe-flowing-thorough-you-peace-love-harmony stuff that you get very little uselful information.
Aikido can even become tedious if you let it. The good things about aikido are that it can be a good workout, it does wonders in helping with your body mechanics, and it can be spectacular to watch.