Which Linux distribution to get? [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : Which Linux distribution to get?

cgwahl
06-01-2005, 20:44
Just got a new hard drive the other day and would like to install Linux on one of the partitions to finally get a chance to learn it.

Last time I installed it (I think Red Hat) only thing I could do was get on internet (could not use anything else...hehe).

Was going to download the iso's off of Red Hat's site again, but though maybe I should use another distribution of it. Anyone have any recommendations? If you recommend something, please provide a link so I can download it.

Also, in case its not obvious, I am a total newbie...did use Unix a few years back on a user level so I could compile a few c programs and whatnot though if that helps any.

Washington,D.C.
06-01-2005, 22:29
Litrix EX
Easiest to use and very fast and modern.

ftp://litrix.codigolivre.org.br/pub/litrix/litrix-EX.iso.zip

It's one CD.Unzip the download and burn the image to CD.

Glock Bob
06-02-2005, 11:11
I suggest Knoppix available at LinuxISO.org (http://linuxiso.org). You can burn it to CD and run it from there, then install it if you like it. Also, many other distro's are available at the above site.

Washington,D.C.
06-02-2005, 11:25
http://www.linuxiso.org is not always up to date.Take a look at http://www.distrowatch.com it's kept very up to date.
Knoppix is up to version 3.9 which is nice but doesn't support all sound cards.Kanotix and PCLinuxOS seem to have more hardware support.Mepis almost always misses my sound cards but is good for hard drive install.As a live CD I find Mepis to be one of the slowest but maintains full Debian compatibilty.

David_G17
06-02-2005, 12:48
get fedora core (the free red hat).

it's much better with hardware detection than the old red hat.

Washington,D.C.
06-02-2005, 13:09