what's reasonable $$ for kenwood TS-520 [Archive] - Glock Talk

PDA

View Full Version : what's reasonable $$ for kenwood TS-520

HtpaKin
06-02-2005, 20:11
Geetings to you folks in the ham shack. I'm studying to get my tech and am wondering what's a good price for TS-520. I'm looking at one on ebay. Is this a good radio to start with?

EUPHER49
06-02-2005, 21:32
I hope you plan to study for and pass Element 1. You'll need to in order to use the TS 520. It's an HF only transceiver. Most people who enter the ranks as Techs purchase an HT for 2 meters as their first rig. I'm sure you'll get a lot of advice on which one of those to buy. I personally don't have one so I won't.

Good luck with the test...

HtpaKin
06-03-2005, 09:17
I'm really new at this so I am looking for advice on what to purchase for first rig. Is an HT a handheld device? I would like to get a base station for the home with a wide range of frequencies, one I can "grow" into if that makes sense. I thought the Kenwood would fit the bill.

I also looked at the YAESU FT-840 at gigaparts and they describe it as great for beginners. Is this something I could use with tech license? I am looking for something I could use right away and expand on it as I get additional licensing. Also, what's "Element 1"? Help...;J

06-03-2005, 15:00
An HT (handy-talkie / hand-held transceiver) is usually a VHF or UHF device.

VHF - Very High Frequency
UHF - Ultra High Frequency

The TS-520 is an HF transceiver.

HF - High Frequency

You will be able to do strange and wonderful things with the various frequencies (or "bands") described. For more information, go to:

www.arrl.org
www.qrz.com
www.eham.net

The best of luck to you.

EUPHER49
06-03-2005, 17:51